Amsterdam Day #1

Standard

“One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things.” – Henry Miller

First time on the internet since I left Saturday! It is currently a little past 11 p.m. in Heidelberg, Germany, but before I talk about that I have so much (especially pictures, so prepare yourself) to share about Amsterdam…

The seven hour flight was a red eye, but sleep was difficult to come by.  When we arrived in Amsterdam at 11:30 a.m. the next morning I was exhausted and ready for bed.  However, that would not come until much later.

After having some lunch and relaxing after the long plane ride, we paid a visit to the Anne Frank House.  Our 40-person group skipped the line that wrapped around the block and headed right for a pre-planned information session and a self-guided tour.

That night we had a three-hour “typically Dutch” dinner.  The food was actually delicious despite the long wait…I guess I’m just going to have to get used to that over here in Europe.

Tomato-based spicy soup with shrimp.

Goat cheese in filo dough with veggies and sherry glaze.

Fresh mint tea with honey.

With a full belly and 2-pound bags underneath my jet lagged eyes I went right to bed to prepare myself for another busy day. But first I had to take a snapshot of the beautiful view from my hotel window.

2 responses »

  1. amsterdam looks beautiful, I love living vicariously through my favorite niece…. Can’t wait for tomorrow…. xo

Leave a Reply

