Amsterdam Day #2

Standard

“We live in a wonderful world that is full of beauty, charm and adventure. There is no end to the adventures we can have if only we seek them with our eyes open.” – Jawaharial Nehru

With eight hours of sleep under my belt, I felt much better the second day in Amsterdam and ready to enjoy all the city had to offer.  I am touring Europe with one of Syracuse University’s Signature Seminar groups, known as Eurovision.  The moment I found out I could get two credits for traveling to five European countries I couldn’t resist.  Thankfully traveling with a group allows use to get inside/behind-the-scenes tours of places…

…such as the Heineken Factory. Below is the double-decker bus we rode around the premises.

I especially loved the tea party they set up for us before the tour.

Next on tap was a visit to the Van Gogh museum, but it was right next to one of Amsterdam’s most famous photo ops.

And the not so famous…

There were college students who lived in a shoe, they had so much fun they didn’t know what to do.

If you don’t get it, think nursery rhymes.

I was the designated navigator for the day.

And of course I led us somewhere that had street break dancers.

I’ve never seen so many bicycles in my life as I did in Amsterdam.  A group of us decided to try it out ourselves.  The narrow, busy, unfamiliar roads made it quite the experience.

Pimp my ride bicycle style?

We eventually decided to traverse the quiet residential streets of an area known as the Jordaan (pronounced like yourdan) . One of the best parts included passing a house in which a woman was cooking and listening to S&M by Rihanna.  Amsterdam was actually one of the best places to start off the trip because the majority of the natives speak English and they are friendly toward Americans.

We ate dinner at a delicious Indonesian restaurant and did one last round of exploring the city.  It was time to move on to Germany.  I’ll end this post with a fun fact: the buildings in Amsterdam are so narrow because property taxes used to be based on the width of the front of the building.


One response »

  1. Am,
    I’m humbled by the break dancing headstand with no-hands picture. I’ve got to get with it to compete with the new generation. Is this Nehru guy the one whose collars were the rage in the late sixies. I also had a flashback with the bicycle picture to the day you learned to ride a two wheeler in the parking lot of your pre-school in Montgomery. You were a natural then and still are. What marvelous recollections. Great chatting with you earlier sweetie. LOve and hugs, Dad

Leave a Reply

