Eurovision Revisted

Standard

“Travel can also be the spirit of adventure somewhat tamed, for those who desire to do something they are a bit afraid of.”    -Ella Maillart

So it’s almost been a month since my two week traveling seminar, but I have a couple fun things to share about it. First, one of my friends told me how to use Google maps to map out our journey across Western Europe.  The picture of it is above or if you want to see the actual city names and details click here! I apologize for the page being in Spanish; I have no idea how to change it. Depending what country you’re in, Google automatically changes its language settings. Anyway, according to Google maps, we spent over 48 hours traveling by bus within the two weeks…wow! It was worth it though.

So that is me, above everyone else, standing on a cliff in the middle of the Swiss Alps.

And this is me jumping off that 30 ft cliff into the sparkling water below!

Some of you may remember I said I bought a waterproof disposable camera when I talked about going canyoning at the end of my Swiss Alps post. I finally found a shop here in Madrid to get them developed and had them put on a CD so I could share them with you!

Canyoning was by far my favorite experience of Eurovision and the best money I spent all trip.

I jumped off rocks

suspended down cliffs (Not me, I was taking the picture)

and slid down waterfalls as if I was at a water park.

Canyoning is definitely not for the faint of heart, or at least not with our tour guides. They actually pushed me down a “waterfall slide” backwards at one point. One of them also made a joke right before we started walking to the river about us needing waterproof passports because we would be crossing the French-Swiss border. May sound funny now, but wasn’t at the time.

Gotta love wetsuits! But seriously, I would’ve turned into a human popsicle had it not been for that impossible to get on and off piece of insulating fabric considering we were swimming in mountain runoff.  I do wish someone would’ve told me my helmet was lopsided the whole day. Oh wellll.

All of us had so much fun and passed out from exhaustion on the busride to Cannes that afternoon. If you ever have the opportunity to go canyoning, I highly recommend it! I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Leave a Reply

