Czech Me Out!

Standard


“Half the fun of the travel is the esthetic of lostness.” -Ray Bradbury

(more on that quote later)

Not even five days after returning from Morocco, I got got on yet another plane to yet another awesome place, Prague, Czech Republic.  It was an early start to the day, i.e., 3:45 a.m., in order to board a bus to the airport by 4:30 a.m. to catch my 7 a.m. flight.  Needless to say, I was exhausted when we arrived in Prague, but there’s no time to sleep when there are sights to see!

We dropped our belongings off at the hostel, grabbed some lunch nearby, and hauled our tired selves onto the streets of Prague.  We stumbled across a pretty church and took a peak inside on our way.

We continued walking up a street that we thought was bringing us to the Old Town Square.  Such begins the relevancy of the opening quote.

Instead we stumbled across yet another church to look at since that’s practically all there is in Europe.

This picture shows just how nice the weather was the first day in Prague.  Clear, blue skies, but a little crisp for my body, which has gotten too used to the warm weather of Madrid.

To keep my fingers warm, I ended up buying some fun mittens!  They’ll probably be my most useful Europe souvenir when I return to the North Pole Syracuse in January.

After visiting the church, we found out from some friendly Czech kids that we were in a completely different area than we thought we were.  Thankfully, the pointed us in the right direction.

The National Museum.

Solid friendship (HAH get it?)

Finally, we came across Old Town Square. It’s quite reminiscent of a fairy tale.

Sweet snack from a food stand at a flea market. Mmmm berries.

If only I had had room in my backpack to take home Pinocchio.

The astronomical clock.

According to Wikipedia, “The clock was first installed in 1410, making it the third-oldest astronomical clock in the world and the only one still working.”

St. Nicholas Church in the Old Town Square.

We continued our long loop around the old side of town.

When I had blisters on my feet at the end of the day, I realized we should’ve opted for one of these.

Beautiful Gothic architecture.

We walked along the river toward the famous Charles Bridge.  The highest, pointiest building in the top right corner of this photo is the cathedral at Prague Castle, which I visited the next day.

The colors of dusk set the stage for some great photo-ops.

View of the Charles Bridge.

View from the Charles Bridge.

It was lined with vendors selling artwork, jewelry, souvenirs, etc.

Funny story: we saw a man wearing a Syracuse University hat when we were walking along the bridge, so my friends and I went up to him to tell him that we attend there.  His son is also a junior at Syracuse and lived on the same floor freshman year as one of the girls that I was with!  Such a small world.

At the other side of the bridge lies more cute stores/restaurants, the Prague Castle, and the Lennon Wall.

At first when I heard people talking about this, I thought it was the “Lenin” Wall as in the Marxist Soviet ruler, Vladimir Lenin, considering Czechoslovakia used to be a USSR satellite state.  When I arrived and saw Beatles quotes, I was happy to find out I was wrong.

Love locked to a bridge, like in Paris.

We headed back to the hostel to rest up a bit.  That didn’t last too long because we were all starving, so we asked the receptionist where we could find a Thai restaurant in the area (Prague is known for having good Thai food).  She sent us to a restaurant a block away that looked great, but it was full for the next hour.  We decided to make reservations there for the following night.  It took a while to find a restaurant that would seat all 10 of us, but we eventually made our way into a foggy-aired pub-like eatery.  Much to my dismay, smoking is still permitted inside of buildings in Prague.  Besides choking on fumes for the entirety of the meal, my dinner was absolutely delicious.  Unfortunately, at this moment I failed at complete documentation of my travels because I was too hungry to remember to take a picture of the meal.  I forgot that I had taken a picture with my friend’s camera because mine was back at the hostel!  I was looking through her facebook pictures and came across it this morning. Better late than never!

Potato gnocchi with ham and sauerkraut paired with a salad.

Most of the group went out that night, but it was around 30 degrees outside and I was drained from sleeping three hours the night before, so I decided to head back to the hostel and rest up for another long day of touring.

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Czech Food Group

Leave a Reply

