Apologies and Excitement

Standard

“We travel to learn; and I have never been in any country where they did not do something better than we do it, think some thoughts better than we think, catch some inspiration from heights above our own.” -Maria Mitchell

I realize it has been a week and a half since my last post and I’m sorry!   Schoolwork has generally been second to traveling over here, but the “studying” part of study abroad has finally arrived.  I had three finals within the past three days and still have one more next Wednesday along with two papers due Monday.  Not to mention I will be back in the U.S. in less than a week, so I have a lot of packing to do and want to try to enjoy my final days here.  Moral of the story is I won’t have time to catch you up on the rest of Italy and my program trip last weekend to Andalucía until I’m back in the U.S. with no more tests or papers.  With how fast this semester is going, that’ll be here before we know it.

Picture 3

I do have a piece of semi-exciting news to share before I get back to a paper about Spanish theater (the class is the bane of my existence at the moment).  The Syracuse University Madrid program held two photography contests for students for the end of the semester and…

Picture 2I WON ONE OF THEM plus a 50 euro (70ish dollars) cash prize!  I submitted ten photos to both the seminar (meaning the photos had to be from our group trip prior to Madrid) and the program (meaning the photos had to be from activities involving SU Abroad) contests and I was lucky enough to win the latter!  Here are the winning photos:

DSC02390

Mini waterfall at Retiro Park

DSC02356

Catching bubbles

DSC02277

La Roselada

DSC03313

A letter from the Spanish Royal Family that’s as old as I am

DSC03346

El bosque del recuerdo

DSC03369

The youngest member of our political walking tour group

DSC07455

Plaza de España, Sevilla

DSC07367

Mural painting

DSC07202

Walking up the tower in Granada

DSC07422

Butterfly bushes

Picture 2

If you want to check out the photos I submitted for the seminar contest and those of the other participants, click here!

Leave a Reply

