When in Rome on 11/11/11

Standard

DSC06388

“Like all great travelers, I have seen more than I remember, and remember more than I have seen.” –Benjamin Disraeli

DSC06499

So I do realize that it has been almost a month since I was in Italy and I also realize this proves just how lazy I’ve been since I got home from Europe.  It’s hard to motivate myself to do things when I have all the time in the world and know I don’t have anything coming up in the future that will be worthy of a travel blog, so instead of rushing to finish my posts all at once, I’m going to spread them out a bit.  I just hope I can remember everything!

DSC06364

If you can remember this far back, the last place I wrote about was Florence.  I spent the last two days of the Italy weekend in one of the most historical places I’ve ever been, Rome!

DSC06625

We took a non-stop train into the city in the morning, checked into the hostel, and headed straight for some ruins.

DSC06347

Our stomachs got the best of us, so we stopped for lunch at a cute little cafeteria. I ordered this delicious idon’tevenknowwhattocallit filled with broccoli and ham.

DSC06357

On our way to the Colloseum, we stumbled across some ruins that we later learned are The Forum.

DSC06368

The white parts of the map were Rome’s territory at the empire’s peak #winning.

DSC06414

We bought our tickets online so we bypassed the swerving queue and went right up to the ticket window.

DSC06419

It was surreal to believe I was actually inside such a famous piece of history!  Here’s some interesting snapshots from the visit:

DSC06424

 

DSC06440

Archaeologists still dig up more and more pieces of history.

DSC06461

Our tickets qualified us for a walk through the Palatino and the Roman Forum as well.

DSC06472

By the time we finished everything, I was so ready for a nap and my feet were throbbing. Three days of nonstop walking and standing on uneven pavement really doesn’t do the body any good.

DSC06500

We passed by this carrot sculptor before we sat down to rest for a few minutes and decide our next move.

DSC06503

We took Rome’s scary metro to the northern part of the city in search of a park.  By the time we got onto a train (at least two passed by that were full) and unearthed at the other side, it was already getting dark.  We voted to skip the park and wander the side streets in search of an off the beaten path, authentic locale for dinner.

DSC06514

We found Le Segrete, or The Secret. Perfect.

DSC06512

My fettuccine with mushrooms was perfect as well.

DSC06520

My feet finally got the rest they so desperately needed to climb the Spanish Steps.

DSC06544

The view from the top was well worth the walk.

DSC06531

But apparently we broke the rules of the Spanish Steps when we sang as we were walking down…

DSC06551

It is forbidden to shout, squall, and sing.  How does one squall?

DSC06567

When I realized I would be in Rome for 11/11/11, I knew exactly where I would make the most epic wish ever because it happens to be the most epic fountain ever.

DSC06598

The Trevi Fountain!  Trust me, all of those movies do not do this place justice.  It is literally built into a building and the statues are larger than life.

DSC06574

Other people could sense the magical ambiance because we witnessed not one, but two marriage proposals!

DSC06605

We spent over an hour waiting at the fountain to throw our coins in at 11:11:11 on 11/11/11.

DSC06613

A few other people had the same idea, but I’m pretty sure all of them were also Americans.

DSC06610

I elected this fine euro coin to throw in when the clock struck 11.  Sorry, but I can’t tell you what I wished for!

DSC06540

One response »

  1. Amy,

    What a great way to end your semester abroad. I love reading your blog, as have many of our friends and family. You make me very proud and I love being your mom!

    Mom

Leave a Reply

