“I just burped pesto and it tasted so good”

Standard

DSC06785

“Life is an unfoldment, and the further we travel the more truth we can comprehend. To understand the things that are at our door is the best preparation for understanding those that lie beyond.” -Hypatia

DSC06632

I’ll explain the title later, but let’s just say the last day of the Italy weekend getaway strictly involved two things, sightseeing and eating way too much food. Wake up call came early because we had tickets to visit Vatican City.

DSC06642

We went to the Vatican museum before proceeding to St. Peter’s Basilica.  There are a bunch of different exhibits and they have no free maps, so we felt a little lost at first.

DSC06661

We found some nice statues…

DSC06660

like this one that actually has eyes. It was freaky.

DSC06677

We wandered through lots of hallways decked out with art

DSC06685

and eventually ended up at our destination

DSC06696

the Sistine Chapel!

DSC06700

I’m not going to lie, I couldn’t believe that the above portion was only a very small part of the ceiling.

DSC06702

I’m pretty sure I wasn’t actually supposed to be taking pictures, but the place was so crowded it was impossible for the guards to prevent it.  I don’t even have a flash on my camera though, so I know it’s not ruining anything.

DSC06726

Next stop, St. Peter’s Basilica.

DSC06716

Hey, where’s Edward Cullen? Sorry, I had to. I’m a Twilight lover.

DSC06738

The line was pretty long, but soon enough we were inside.

DSC06741

Where St. Peter was buried.

DSC06747

Just some light shining into the exquisite building.

DSC06777

Although we were starving, we took a bus to the Pantheon before finding somewhere to eat.

DSC06770

I thought the ceiling was cooler looking than the rest of the inside.

DSC06781

Pretty piazza near the Pantheon.

DSC06784

We stumbled across this cute little restaurant and it was exactly what we were looking for.

DSC06786

The eating frenzy began with this beautiful appetizer that consisted of a tomato stuffed with goat cheese over pesto.  This is what prompted my friend Sarah to say, “I just burped pesto and it tasted so good” about an hour after the meal.  You can go ahead and judge, but Italian food really is that delicious.

DSC06789

For the main course, penne with spicy tomato sauce and seasoned sauteed spinach.

DSC06793

As for dessert, I stopped in every gelato shop I could find to see if they had the dairy-free dark chocolate flavor I had eaten in Venice and Florence.  After being told no at least three times, I discovered the best gelateria in all of Italy.  It had hundreds of flavors including EIGHT SOY FLAVORS!

DSC06795

It was a tough decision, but I went with chocolate, hazelnut, and pistachio.

DSC06797

Two of my friends and I were walking to a park when we saw this going on. We just so happened to be in the capital of Italy the day Berlusconi resigned! Talk about perfect timing.

DSC06834

We spent the rest of the afternoon walking through the park we had tried to find the day before. We met the rest of the group back at the hostel a couple hours later, grabbed our backpacks, and were off to dinner even though we weren’t even that hungry yet. A few of our friends back in Madrid recommended a restaurant called Andrea, which they went to both nights they were in Rome and befriended the owner. I liked how the place had their own wine labels.

DSC06836

This was the spiciest dipping oil I’ve ever experienced.

DSC06838

I ordered a salad, homemade gnocchi, and my friend and I split the chicken below.

DSC06841

Needless to say, after the gnocchi, I couldn’t fit much of this chicken into my stomach.

DSC06814

After dinner, we boarded a bus to the Rome airport.  We arrived at 10:30 p.m. and our flight wasn’t until 6:30 a.m. The airport shut down the departure waiting area at midnight, so we had to spend the wee hours of the morning on the freezing cold floor of the arrival area where there were about four seats for the one hundred people waiting. I woke up the next day with a cold of course.  Even though the Rome airport experience put a small damper on the trip, we successfully completed our mission to see three cities in four days. Ciao bella!

Leave a Reply

